Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Jan. 8 – On this day in Montana history in 1917 Maggie Smith Hathaway, a Democrat from Stevensville and Emma J. Ingalls, a Republican from Kalispell were seated in the Montana Legislature. They were the first two women to serve in the lawmaking body. They had been elected in Nov. 1916. Montana women got the right to vote in 1914 – six years before woman suffrage became the national standard. The Montana Historical Society is celebrating the 100th Anniversary of the right of women to vote in Montana all this year. You can learn about these two women and many more by logging on to http://montanawomenshistory.org/.

No comments:

Post a Comment